Skip to main content


Annual Conference
Presentation Tips
Boe Awards
Poster Awards
Past Conferences
Student Resources
Business Meetings
Contact Us
Site Map

The Dennis Boe Award


The Great Plains Honors Council sponsors the Dennis Boe Award to showcase and reward outstanding scholarly work by the honors program/college students of its member institutions. The entry deadline is set each year by the conference hosts. Entries must be submitted directly by the Honors director of the nominating institution, and each institution is limited to two submissions. The Boe Award is a cash prize and an engraved plaque for each of the winning students.


For submission instructions, visit the conference website.




 Winners of the 2015 Boe Awards, from left: From left: Megan Gallego, Lone Star College, “Fiction Reflects Reality”; Genesis Barrera, Tarrant County College Southeast, “Aristotelian Analysis of Androids”; Daryl Bagley, Harding University, “Gender Differences in Mathematics”; Michael Buonaiuto, Oral Roberts University, “Precipitation Forecasting”; Stephani Clevenger, McLennan Community College, “White Band Disease”; Brittany Wright, McLennan Community College, “Sex Appeal and Social Economics.”

 Winners of the 2014 Boe Awards, from left: Kayleah Cumpian, Northeast Texas Community College, “Wright Patman: Twentieth-Century Populist”; Jessie Selph, Lee College, “The Female Proletariat: Marxism in Moulin Rouge”; Analiese Smith, Tarrant County College District, “Lethal Weaponry: Examining the Development and Use of Chemical Warfare”; Janet B. Flores, Lone Star College – North Harris, "Surveying Mueschke Cemetery: A Community Preservation Project Led by Applied Geomatics”; Rachel J. Long, Oral Roberts University, “Low Level Energy Laser Therapy and Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy”; Sean Daniel Motl, Angelo State University, “Memorials Without Memories


Winners of the 2013 Boe Awards, from left:

Lucy Hesse, Washburn University, “The Development of Economic Systems”; Cassady Hossenlopp, Angelo State, “Detection and Identification”; Laticia Warren, John Brown University, “What Ophelia Heard”; Michele Herbelin, McLennon Community College, “Caged Yankees Sing”; Caroline Jennings, Tulsa Community College, “Behind the Veil”; Austin Eldridge, Lee College, “Galveston Bay











Winners of the 2012 Boe Awards are, from left: Mollimichelle Cabeldue, University of the Incarnate Word ("Relationship Self-Efficacy"); Miki Katuwal, Park University ("Prevalence of Fecal Coliform Bacteria"); Christina Wagoner, Texas Woman's University ("Theophilus Evans"); Isaac Griffin, Northeast Texas Community College ("Political Realignment in Texas"); Caleb Shaver, Lee College ("Reality of War"); Lynna McGuyer, Lee College ("The Civil Rights Movement in Texas").



 2011 Boe Award winners








2010 Boe Award winners



2009 Boe Award winners

2008 Boe Award winners