Skip to main content


Annual Conference
Student Resources
Business Meetings
Contact Us
Site Map
The Great Plains Honors Council serves collegiate honors programs in
Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Texas.
Coordinating its activities with the National Collegiate Honors Council (NCHC), the Great Plains organization promotes the flow of information, ideas, fellowship and professional encouragement throughout its member programs. Our spring regional conference always emphasizes student presentations and the region-as-text.
Now available on this site: 2015 dues invoice


The University of Texas - Pan American

will host the next GPHC conference on

April 10-12, 2015.


Visit the conference website.  Please note: An overflow hotel has now been designated.  Hotel information, conference registration, proposal deadlines, etc., can all be found on the conference website.

Congratulations to Dr. Earl Ramsey, who has just retired as Director of the prestigious Donaghey Scholars Program at the University of Arkansas, on becoming the first Regional Director of the Great Plains Honors Council.  The creation of this position, and support for Dr. Ramsey, came in a series of unanimous votes in the Executive Committee and among the members of the Great Plains Honors Council.



2014 Boe Award winners

From Left: Kayleah Cumpian, Northeast Texas Community College, “Wright Patman: Twentieth-Century Populist”;  Jessie Selph, Lee College, “The Female Proletariat: Marxism in Moulin Rouge”; Analiese Smith, Tarrant County College District, “Lethal Weaponry: Examining the Development and Use of Chemical Warfare”;

Janet B. Flores, Lone Star College – North Harris, "Surveying Mueschke Cemetery: A Community Preservation Project Led by Applied Geomatics”; Rachel J. Long, Oral Roberts University, “Low Level Energy Laser Therapy and Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy”;  Sean Daniel Motl, Angelo State University, “Memorials Without Memories”


GPHC Lifetime Members who received Awards of Recognition at the 2013 conference, from left:   Dr. Robert Spurrier, Oklahoma State University; John Britt, Lee College; Dr. Gary Bell, Texas Tech University; David Lawless, Tulsa Community College; Dr. Virginia McCombs, Oklahoma City University; Dr. Chris Willerton, Abilene Christian University; Dr. Earl Ramsey, University of Arkansas at Little Rock.